Skip to content

For Emily

May 19, 2010

I saw a bumper sticker today on the back of a minivan that said: I USED TO BE COOL.
It was in the parking lot of target, of course, because where else are all the minivans in the middle of the day. It was pouring rain and I was hauling my poor kids out of the car. We had just been booted out of the gym because Abby puked in the daycare. Apparently when your kiddo pukes (I really think it was probably closer to “spit up”) they come and accost you from your class and make you leave asap. This means no shower…not even a change of clothes. And today happens to be the only day of the week where we go straight to Sam’s gym class from my Body Attack class. Which is appropriately named because you actually look like you got attacked when you finish. This is how I looked when they accosted me and booted the three of us out the door for a little puke.
I might be dramatizing this a little bit and in reality the childcare manager was very apologetic about their policy. But regardless…I was a horrifying site and we didn’t have enough time to go home but too much time before class…so thus we ended up at Target. Me….looking like a sweaty filthy homeless person and the kids….grumpy and perhaps a little pukey.
So….to the lady with the bumper sticker I say….AMEN sister! I used to be cool too. Now…now I drive a mini, wear Dansko clogs and have a short hair cut. I hate bumper stickers….but that one…that one MADE MY DAY! High five to you….you minivan driving, uncool mama!

At least my kids think I’m cool 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. b2seattle permalink
    May 19, 2010 1:13 am

    I used to be cool too, when I was about 12, I think.

  2. Kelly permalink
    May 23, 2010 11:35 pm

    Well Katie, I’m pretty sure that minivan with the “I Used to be Cool” sticker on it belongs to my friend! Was it a Honda Odyssey in a champagne-ish color? Was it the Cockeysville Target? Because that sounds like my friend Jenn for sure. Not to worry, I used to be cool (or maybe I didn’t). Either way, I now drive a minivan, have worn Dansko clogs for years, and most certainly have short hair.

    Maybe everyone else isn’t cool and we are?

    • monkeymama08 permalink*
      May 24, 2010 12:21 am

      HA! That is funny….yes……that was the car. I almost threw myself on her windshield in solidarity. Everything about me that day screamed I AM UNCOOL TOO!!! Too funny. Please tell Jenn that she made my day!

  3. Jenn permalink
    May 26, 2010 3:44 am

    I am pretty sure that was my silver mini-van you are talking about! Kelly forwarded this to me. Many people see the bumper sticker on my mini-van that says, “I used to be cool” and have asked where I got it. (I’m not one to put bumper stickers on my cars either, but when I saw this on another mini-van on Dulaney Valley Road a few months before I got mine, I ordered it the day I brought the dreaded vehicle home!)

    So here is the website: http://www.iusedtobecool.com

    It was started by a mom who used to live an adventurous lifestyle before kids. You can read about her on the homepage… cute story. She will personally e-mail you with the delivery info. and when I wrote back to say thanks and why I had to buy the bumper sticker, she wrote me back a personal note. I thought that was nice!

    I get stopped all the time about it! Mostly people either laughing, asking where I got it, or just to tell me that it’s a great bumper sticker!

    Not too long ago, I got stopped at a light at Timonium & York (a rather busy intersection) by some guy in a Suburban who was honking until I finally noticed he was honking at me. Once he finally got my attention, I saw that he hand wrote a note on a full sheet of paper in all capitals that said, “Still Cool!” I gave him the thumbs up sign while I was hysterically laughing! It made my day! I’m still smiling about it! I just had to share this story because that was by far the best reaction I have gotten from a stranger about the bumper sticker. Your story also tops my list:-)

    Anyway, enjoy! Perhaps you will also soon be sporting the same bumper sticker!

    • monkeymama08 permalink*
      June 22, 2010 1:11 am

      Um…nice how I get back to you like a month later! Geez! 🙂

      I’m so glad to hear from you…thanks for posting…you’re my hero 🙂

Leave a Reply

