Skip to content

Jesus Loves Me

December 19, 2009

“I want to join a church”, I said the other night to Jeff.

Dead silence. He slowly turned towards me with his eyes narrowing in horrifying skepticism.

“Who are you?” he spat. “Have you been drinking?”
I expected this response. I might as well have told him I was thinking of turning tricks for extra cash.
This was totally out of left field for me. I have always been pretty steadfast in my discomfort with organized religion. A Catholic wedding ceremony is enough to give me hives. I didn’t grow up going to church and for the most part feel pretty strongly that I can be a reasonable, morally guided person without a church doctrine dictating personal policy for me. I’m not standing in judgment of any of you church-goers. It’s just never been my thing. Ever.
Jeff has breached the subject of baptizing the children a couple times. I told him that if it meant that much to him, I would gladly bring the children to be baptized if he wanted to arrange it. However since I’m not “churchy” and don’t have a clue how to get anyone baptized….I’m going to opt out of the planning process. That is as far as the discussion has ever gone.
But here lately I have started wanting to get more involved in charity volunteer work and I think a church would be a good place to start. Plus, I think it’s important that the kids grow up with a sense of reverence and gratefulness. It’s a family activity we can do together and hopefully we can meet some more families with children the same age as ours. So…..I thought I would see what Jeff thought about the idea.  After he caught his breath and the earth began rotating again he turned towards me.
“I think it’s a great idea” he said.
“Well, don’t go getting all excited and Jesus-y on me. There are a few specific criteria I have.”
“Ok”, he smirks
“Like, I don’t really want to have to listen to scripture”
“Ok”
“And I don’t want to sing hymns”
“Ok”
“And I don’t really want to go on Sunday mornings”
“Ok”
“And I don’t want to sit around talking about repenting and God-y things”.
He laughs
“And I don’t want to get dressed up and shake hands with people wishing for peace to be with me” (I’m such a grouch, I know. But all those “peace” folks are gonna shake themselves right into a bad case of the swine flu).
“Ok”
“And lastly, I don’t really want to call it “church” so maybe we could come up with some kind of code name for it so I don’t get all skeeved out”.

“Uh-huh. So what you’re saying is that you want to join the YMCA”, he chuckles.
I shoot him a hairy eyeball. Nobody likes a smart ass. But yes, something like that.
I did a little research online and found a non-denominational church in our old neighborhood downtown. They looked pretty laid back and less Jesus-y than some others and their outreach program looked good to me. Plus, they meet on Sunday nights. Bonus! I think we’re going to check it out in January. Jeff feels encouraged that the children might not grow up solely under my heathen influence 😉 and I can still make pancakes and read the NY Times on Sunday mornings. So far it’s a win-win. I feel so holy and pious I can hardly stand it!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. steve permalink
    December 19, 2009 9:55 pm

    OK, who are you and what did you do to my friend Katie?

  2. elizabeth permalink
    January 4, 2010 3:30 pm

    Jesus may love you but I do not if you don’t update with some Christmas pics pronto. No words if it is too much trouble – just pics….. And no I am not screening your calls and skypes. XO

  3. Jennie permalink
    January 4, 2010 5:01 pm

    So here I am back at work after the holidays and first things first, I have to check out Katie’s blog and see if anything is new. Yes, new to me is within the last month ;-). You’ll never believe what Owen and I did yesterday….we went to church! We are also looking for a place that we can go, meet families, charity work, etc. So I’ll keep you updated on our progress. The church we went to on Sunday was a dud. On to the next one….
    Take care and happy new year!

  4. b2seattle permalink
    January 22, 2010 7:36 pm

    Where have you gone?? Miss getting updates…

Leave a Reply

